Event Format

Webinar

Date

Wed, Mar 25, 2020, 02:00 PM – Wed, Mar 25, 2020, 03:00 PM

Cost

Free

Type

Webinars

Event Host

Contact Information

Kristin Oliver
3128952546

Description

The Role of Public Health Research in Gun Violence Prevention

Wednesday, March 25, 2020

2 - 3 p.m. Eastern; 1 - 2 p.m. Central; 11 a.m. - 12 p.m. Pacific

In this webinar, led by one of the country's leading physician voices on a public health approach to gun violence prevention, you will learn about the current state of research on firearm injury, where the field is heading and what is still needed.

Megan Ranney, M.D. — emergency physician at Rhode Island Hospital, associate professor at Brown University and chief research officer for American Foundation for Firearm Injury Reduction in Medicine or AFFIRM — will provide an overview of existing data on the epidemiology of gun violence, promising research on prevention and how health systems can make a difference in expanding the evidence base for gun violence prevention.

Attendees Will Learn to:

  • Describe the most common causes of gun death and injury
  • Identify two ways that gun violence affects health care providers
  • Identify two promising areas of research

Speaker:

Megan L. Ranney, M.D., MPH, FACEP
Chief Research Officer
American Foundation for Firearm Injury Reduction in Medicine (AFFIRM)